Rescue partnership could spell fewer deaths in the Miami area

The following story highlights one of primary reasons why I named this blog “Pack Mentality.” Everyone needs to work together on issues such as rescuing homeless pets, reducing the euthanasia rates in shelters (to zero as an ultimate goal), closing down dog-fighting rings, eliminating puppy mills, preserving wildlife and preserving wildlife habitat.

In the Miami-Dade County, the Miami Herald is reporting several organizations are now working together, in conjunction with the county’s animal shelter, to reduced the number of homeless pets euthanized each year. Two of the goals are to increase the rate of spay/neuters and cut down of the number of pets turned in by their people.

Another branch of the partnership, in Hillsborough County is seeing success, as deaths have dropped 40 percent since 2007.

Let’s hope this is a growing trend.
4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kelly on April 21, 2010 at 6:00 pm

    Tom,

    How big of a part do you think social media is going to play in the future of animal rescue and shelter reform? There is no doubt that it had a great impact on stopping heart stick in Robeson. I was having a discussion on this with some of my rescue friends. So many pets are seen on Facebook and saved. I think it’s going to play a huge part in rescues’ and volunteers’ partnerships with the shelters, as well as organizing animal advocate activities. It’s really interesting to watch and gives me hope that things are going to change for the better. More lives will be saved, and hopefully it will play a part in laws being changed.

    Reply

    • Posted by Tom Grady on April 21, 2010 at 7:29 pm

      Kelly,

      I think social media is having – and will continue to have – a tremendous impact on rescue, animal welfare issues, shelter reform and on new legislation.
      In fact, the rise of social networking on the web led me to expand my blogging efforts from local to national. I saw what an impact Facebook and other systems were having and I saw where I could expand my readership to new heights – because of all the great animal advocates like you who are taking their passions online and connecting with so many thousands and thousands of other animal lovers.
      Although we have a long way to go, I am optimistic in looking ahead, to where we can go in the movement for more humane treatment of animals.

      Reply

  2. Posted by D Gary Grady on April 21, 2010 at 11:23 pm

    The Internet in general has been hugely important in spreading this kind of subject-specific information. Many people would never even have heard of breed rescue groups without the Internet, let alone been able to “shop” for a dog on line. Many people would have no idea how serious the problem of pet overpopulation is. And it’s not just direct information flow via the Internet. Someone who learns something on line can pass it on to friends and family.

    The only problem is that disinformation flows freely as well. I mentioned in a response to an earlier post that a friend of mine was taken in by websites and emails claiming that spay-and-neuter efforts were aimed at making dogs extinct and that California’s proposition on the humane treatment of farm animals had all matter of outrageous provisions that were actually not in the proposal at all. (Incidentally, it passed and I believe it’s now in effect, and as far as I know there are still farmers in California despite the over-the-top claims of the opponents.)

    Reply

  3. I have been able to save more dogs, cats, horses, and other animals since I have started working with thousands of animal lovers, rescuers, rescues, and even kill shelters on FACEBOOK.
    One night a Facebook friend in Canada sent me the information and picture of a frightened lab/hound mix. He had 48 hours before he would be killed. I posted the dog on my Facebook pages that night and began contacting rescues and friends on Facebook. By morning, I found the dog a home with a Facebook friend in Florida and had another Facebook friend in North Carolina pull him and get him into boarding. Another Facebook friend in NY helped to get up money for transport, boarding, etc. Keep in mind not one of us has ever met in person yet that night 4 women and 1 man saved a dog despite the fact that 4 of us were in different states and 1 in a foreign country.
    Today I made a 300 mile round trip to pick up a dog scheduled to die in another state if not rescued. I was made aware of this dog by a woman who lives hundreds of miles from me and from the shelter I rescued the dog from.
    Social networking is saving the lives of animals. There is no doubt about it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

