Sadness once again for our family

Sadly, many of our rescues are reaching the winter years of the their lives. And unfortunately, we lost another beloved family member on Thursday.

Mustang’s passing was more than a shock and totally unexpected. He was a 12-year-old who was the first greyhound we adopted, some seven years ago. He was in good health for his age, other than a heart arrhythmia that had been managed for some time with medication.

We believe he suffered a heart attack Thursday evening. I got him to the car quickly and the local emergency clinic is only five minutes from our house – but he died soon after they began to evaluate him.

Mustang’s adoption back in 2003 led me to dig deeper into the issue of greyhound racing and prompted a number of columns and blog entries over the years – highlighting the horrors of the industry.

I’ll have more on Mustang, his time with us and his incredible personality – very soon. For now, my wife and I are trying to overcome this sudden loss.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Was waiting to hear the great news on JoJo and thought this was about her. So, so sorry to hear you are experiencing another loss….it is difficult enough when you expect it, but this is so terrible. My thoughts go out to you and your wife during this incredibly sad time.

    Reply

    • Posted by Tom Grady on June 25, 2010 at 11:22 pm

      Tracy,
      Thank you. I’ll include an update on JoJo tomorrow. But the short version is her checkup went well, but she will need to have one more surgery to aid the healing of a small area of exposed bone in her jaw.

      Reply

  2. Oh, Tom, I’m so sorry to read about your loss. I know it’s never easy, regardless of circumstance, but it’s especially hard to lose them suddenly. It sounds like Mustang went very quickly and peacefully, if that can be any comfort to you at all.

    My heart goes out to you and Nan.

    Reply

  3. Hi Tom,

    I also lost a friend this week and share your sorrow. I am so sorry.

    Christine

    Reply

  4. Posted by Val Wolf on June 26, 2010 at 12:01 pm

    Dear Tom,

    I am so sorry to hear about Mustang. From having read your articles on animals, I know that Mustang was in a very compassionate household, and he was a very loved dog.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Lucie on June 28, 2010 at 6:38 pm

    I am so very sorry about your loss. My heart goes out to you and your family. I am sure Mustang was very loved.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Cyndi R on June 29, 2010 at 11:24 am

    Tom,
    I am so so sorry to hear of your heartbreaking loss. It doesn’t matter how long we have them, or how old they are, it’s always just devastating when one of our precious greys leave us. Mustang knew he was safe and loved with you and for that you can be proud. He hasn’t gone far. He will always live in your heart. I wish you peace.

    Cyndi R

    Reply

Leave a Reply

