Sunday Commentary – Michael Vick and all others convicted of dog fighting should not have pets

There is so much being written about Michael Vick of late, so I’ve sort of stayed clear of writing about him for the most part. But his comments about wanting a dog some day are enough to bring me into the fray.

The answer is NO. Michael Vick and anyone else convicted of dog fighting or any other similarly cruel acts against animals should be banned from having pets – forever. It’s a matter of being held accountable for their actions. In fact, I’d include the people who are convicted to domestic violence in the mix of folks who should be banned from pet guardianship.

In yet another fact, it’s time for the innocent across the board – humans and animals – to get some breaks, while criminals serve far harsher penalties for violent acts against the innocent. We should not read stories about repeat offenders when it comes to violent offenders. When I read a story about a terrible crime being committed by a repeat violent offender, I see it as a complete failure of our legal system.

How is it that anyone has voted this system in place, where the criminals get breaks because of prison overcrowding or get second chances – putting the innocent at constant risk?

There’s one clear way for people to avoid being banned from having pets, and it’s the same one clear way to avoid going to prison – Don’t Commit the Crimes. If Michael Vick didn’t want to be held accountable or go to prison or be banned from having pets in his family, he should not have gotten involved in dog fighting. It’s no one’s fault but his own.

I’m a huge football fan, but I’m sick of pro sports commentators acting as if the number of touchdown passes he throws or the number he runs for somehow wipes his slate clean. Charles Manson could build great bird houses in prison, but it doesn’t mean he’s sorry for what he did or should be forgiven for his crimes.

I’m not saying people can’t change or turn their lives around. And I hope Michael Vick can really do that. But every time I see him on TV, I see an image of those dogs he brutally tortured and killed. I can’t help it.

And I can’t help but consider that kids might look at his case and see they can commit terrible acts and be easily forgiven. I want kids to look up to solid role models like Hank Aaron or the player who wins the Walter Payton Man of the Year award each year.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Thank you for saying exactly what’s been on my mind. Vick did the crime without any forethought about the consequences. Well, now he’s paying the consequences. One of the things that he agreed to when the plea deal was made was that he would never own dogs again. EVER. If he is truly repentant for his crimes, then he will own up to the consequences and live with them. Not try to buy or squirm his way out of them.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Judy on December 28, 2010 at 11:14 am

    Thank you. Finally some sanity. He is a sadistic person and is a convicted felon. I am sick of listening about him every week. I live in Delaware, where it is impossible to get away from it. I live in an area where all Eagles fans are ready to sit him next to Jesus Christ. All for a super bowl win. Lets collectively pray this does not happen. If it does, I will never watch another NFL game as long as I live.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

