Sunday Commentary: Blogging Forward

We are approaching the first birthday for the Pack Mentality Blog. I long ago found that this is a time-consuming task, but one I am consumed with because being an advocate for animals is my passion.

Everyone needs to find a passion for something positive in life. There are negative passions (see Charlie Sheen and Lindsay Lohan). But a positive passion can be extremely rewarding and this effort has become just that.

I’m also working on a book based on my columns and other writings over the last decade and my studies in the areas of self-awareness, state of consciousness and cognition in animals. And hopefully it will help spread the message of compassion for animals and help foster a better understanding of our fellow creatures.

On the blog itself, I’m working on a transition to a new website. I will still be using WordPress, but under my own domain name. One step forward – for me anyway – is the potential for ad sales with the new site. I’ve done this for a year now with no direct income from the effort. I’m a struggling freelance writer and to be honest, the extra income would help, at least a little I hope.

So coming soon, if all goes according to plan, I may be directing everyone to the new site. Those who follow along through Facebook, will see the links go to the new site. For others who have subscribed to the blog, you will need to slip through that brief process again or bookmark the new site.

Don’t worry. I will let everyone know well advance when the change is due to occur.

I would also like to thank everyone who has stopped here at any point over the last year to check out the blog and/or to offer your comments. I really appreciate your input and your readership. The recent surge in daily views has pushed up the time line on moving to the new site.

4 responses to this post.

  1. I thoroughly enjoy your posts, Tom! I’m happy to hear they will continue. You are an incredible voice for the animals.

    Reply

    • Posted by Tom Grady on March 6, 2011 at 9:02 pm

      Nancy,
      Thank you. I really appreciate your kind words and your regular contribution to the discussion.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Nancy Clifford on March 7, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    I have only recently found Pack Mentality but I check it every day to read your latest information. I am a vegetarian with 6 ( recently lost one of my cats) adopted dogs and cats…three are rescued greyhounds.
    I deeply appreciate your information and dedication to the plight of those who can not speak for themselves. Thank you for helping me keep informed.
    Nancy

    Reply

    • Posted by Tom Grady on March 7, 2011 at 1:57 pm

      Nancy,
      Thank you for your kind words and for being a regular visitor to the blog. I’ve really attempted to pick up the pace of late and take the blog to the next level.
      And most of all, thank you for rescuing.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

